Chicken Cassoulet

by ....RaeDi

It was a mix of rain and snow again today!  Just as my mini daffodils are starting to bloom.  T and I neither one could come up with something for dinner… this always puts us in the pantry and refrigerator to see what we have on hand.  We had several options but the one that we both agreed to was Chicken Cassoulet, and it would be a dinner that we could both work on.  I love it when this happens… it usually comes out pretty good.

The recipe came from my Mom and I am not sure where she got it… it is a keeper!   It was at Tanya, her dinner of pork shank with giant beans looked so good the other day and it made me realize it was time for some beans and then when I found the beans in the freezer… it was good for go!   Just a few difference from pork to chicken and such…

Ingredients:

  •          8 bone-in-chicken thighs (about 2 pounds) (I used 4)
  •          ¾ teaspoon salt, divided
  •          ½ teaspoon freshly ground pepper, divided
  •          2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  •          8 ounces chicken sausage or kielbasa, cut into 3/4 inch slices
  •          1 medium onion, chopped (about 1 cup)
  •          1 celery rib, chopped (about ½ cup)
  •          2 carrots, sliced on a diagonal
  •          2 garlic cloves, chopped
  •          1 ½ cups chicken broth
  •          1 can diced tomatoes
  •          2 cups cooked cannellini beans, save some juice you may want to use some (I used about two cups of cannellini     beans that I had in the freezer that were already cooked, with a little of their juices)
  •          ½ teaspoon thyme
  •          ¼ cup chopped parsley
  •          ½ cup dry breadcrumbs
  •          ¼ cup grated Parmesan Cheese

I had cooked my cannellini beans a while back and had frozen some in some of their juices so just needed to thaw them out with… my chicken, and kielbasa.  I would use them later that afternoon to put the dish together.

Season the chicken with some of the salt and pepper.  Heat the olive oil in a skillet… once hot enough add the chicken and cook until browned well and cook the other side, cooking until well browned.  Remove from skillet and add the kielbasa and cook stirring once in a while until well browned.  Reduce the heat and add the onion, celery and carrot, cook stirring often, cook until just softened.  Stir in the garlic and cook for about a minute.  Now stir in broth, making sure to scrape up any of the browned bits from the bottom of the skillet.  Add tomato, cannellini beans, thyme, parsley, remaining salt and pepper: stir to mix well.  Now add the chicken and kielbasa.

Place the mix into a casserole dish.  Bake uncovered at 350˚ for 45 minutes or until chicken is no longer pink and top is slightly browned.  Next time I will bake with casserole lid on… I think it will help it from drying out some.  Our only complaint!  Once you have all of the mix in the casserole you can mix the breadcrumbs’ and Parmesan Cheese and spread over the top (before you bake…) I did not use breadcrumbs and I sprinkled the Parmesan Cheese on when I had plated the baked dish. 

We were both pleased with our effort and no decisions need be made on what we will have tomorrow night for dinner we have left-over’s and we all know that left-over’s are always better the second night….

 

