Kippered Salmon Potahto (Frittata)

by ....RaeDi

I have been absent now for a while, when the cold weather set in it took a toll on my health… I also lost the use of my right arm (this is not as bad as it sounds, will have surgery soon, hopefully, to get my arm back to normal) so when I type it is hunt and peck with one hand, which is slow to say the least. I miss being active on my blog and having the solidarity of the friends I have made here… I do read all of your posts and have enjoyed them immensely.  I will be back to posting comments when I have full use of my arm!   I have many posts ready to blog and will post them as energy allows me to. I hope each and every one of you has a wonderful holiday season and keep the wonderful posts coming….

“Let’s Call the Whole Thing Off”

By Louis Armstrong

You like potato and I like potahto, you like tomato and I like tomahto

Potato, potahto, Tomato, tomahto, lets call the whole thing off…

I am calling it Potahto you can call it Frittata, but the one thing it is… is very good!  What a combination… each blending into one heavenly dish.  It was light and airy and the flavors came together… as I said one heavenly dish.

Kippered Salmon Potahto (Frittata)

          Preheat oven to 350 ˚

     Ingredients:

  • 3 Whole eggs beaten
  • ¾ cup of Egg Beaters (you can use all eggs and you probably could use all Egg Beaters)
  • Just a splash of cream or Half & Half
  • 1 small onion sliced thin, save five thin slices for the top of dish
  • 3 Yukon Yellow Potatoes sliced thin (I used the food processor to slice the onions and potatoes)
  • I used at least one cup of Kippered Salmon
  • I had about ¼ cup of black olives I needed to use and sliced them thin
  • ½ (plus… what you like) cup of Shredded Cheddar cheese (was requested… I would have used some Havarti with Dill cheese if there had been any in the house!)
  • Sea Salt to taste
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper to taste
  • Dill to taste
  • Garlic Powder to taste
  • Smoked Paprika to taste
  • 5 thin slices of fresh tomato for the top of dish
  • 4 thin slices of onion for the top of dish

This is a very easy dish to make, takes just a few minutes.  You do not have to roast the potatoes first you can cube them and par-boil them instead.  If you par-boil the potatoes then put onions in a skillet with olive oil and cook a few minutes stirring off and on… you do not want them completely done.   I love the taste of roasted potatoes and onions so I used my processor and sliced them all and did the same with the onion.  I then put each on a separate baking sheet and sprinkled them with some sea salt, fresh ground black pepper, a little dill, a little garlic powder and just enough smoked paprika to add some color.   Put them in a heated oven, 400˚, for about 15 minutes, you have to watch them, you just want them to start getting a golden color, and the onions will be done first. Check them after 7-8 minutes and often after that!  I only roast one side of the potatoes and onions.

I oiled an iron skillet; I put all the potatoes in the bottom making sure it was even.  I then scattered the onion on top making sure they were even and then the same with the black olives.  I put a good thick layer of kippered salmon next.   I then spread the shredded cheese on top of that evenly.

I whisked the eggs and added the egg beaters and whisked a little more, then I added a splash of cream (or Half & Half) to the mix and whisked it till mixed. I then added the seasoning and poured this over the mix in the skillet.  I took a spatula and lifted the edges slightly to make sure it was coating everything the same.  Once I had all the egg mixture added I placed the tomatoes and onion slices on top.  I sprinkled a little dill and smoked paprika on top.

I put a lid on the skillet and put the whole thing on a burner that was heated to low and let it cook for about 10 minutes, it was just starting to set… you can see it at the edges of the pan.   I then put it in the oven for about 10 minutes with lid and then about that much time without lid.

Each flavor blended… the essence of the whole mix meets equally with the aroma and all combined for a sensational dish….

 

 

 

