Bing Cherries in Sweet Sauce and Pistachio Parfaits

by ....RaeDi

A while back I canned some fresh Bing Cherries in Sweet Sauce (not overly sweet, I wanted the black cherries natural sweetness.)  I thought I would make use of it not only as a meat sauce (wonderful especially with pork and chicken, would be really good with duck) but too in desserts, salad dressings, on and swirled in ice cream and even yogurt and wonderful refreshing smoothies.   I am sure with time there would be a lot more uses than I can think of right now.

We were cleaning out my pantry a while back and discovered a box of Pistachio Pudding.  I do not know where it came from (I still have no idea.)  The expiration date was still some time in the future so I knew it was still good.  To be honest, I had no idea how the boxed Pistachio Pudding would taste.

I love a good parfait and we had not had a parfait for at least a dozen years.  I thought when I found the box of pudding it would be a good mix with my Bing Cherries in Sweet Sauce.  I made a mental note to one day in the near future use the pudding mix and add the cherry sauce and see what I could come up with.

One afternoon I made the boxed pudding per instructions.  I should have known at this stage it was not what I wanted to just take the time and make some pistachio pudding or custard from scratch.  I had some left over Pistachio Crumble (cherry pie topping recipe) to put between the layers and sprinkle some on top of the parfait.  I put a cup and then some of the sweet cherry sauce in a heavy saucepan and let it cook down some to thicken the sauce a little.   While letting it cool down some I made some delicious whip cream to top it all off.

Making a parfait is so easy; you just layer in the different ingredients you are using and in a few minutes you have a perfect treat.

I should have gone with my first instinct, to make the pistachio pudding or custard from scratch.  I have now faced my enter self that cannot bring me to throw away a thing and all things should be used… nothing wasted!  The parfait(s) were delicious with the exception of the pistachio pudding.  It was horrible, but edible (palatable) but seems lite on taste and faint in color.  Next time I need some pudding or custard I will do what I have always done in the past make it from scratch, you cannot beat the smooth, silky, wonderful flavors that you can take pleasure in… with the boxed pudding I lost all of the savor!

It was good enough there were no leftovers but we all knew it was missing flavor; some of the bouquet was missing!  The Bing Cherry Sauce was delicious as was the crumble and whip cream (a wonderful mix,) they in a way made up for the lacking in the boxed pudding….

I thought of this quote as I was eating my parfait.  It too is sad to think that so many generations will live this way:

You can say this for ready-mixes – the next generation isn’t going to have any trouble making pies exactly like mother used to make.  ~Earl Wilson 

