Fresh Fruit Salad with Lemon Thyme Dressing

by ....RaeDi

 

I love a revitalizing fruit salad.  It is a wonderful light add to any good meal.  I used some cubed watermelon and cantaloupe, a few sliced strawberries, some pitted Bing cherries and added a few of the frozen white and red grapes from the freezer.

This is very easy and really quick to put together.  I make the dressing in a pint size jar with good lid that can shake to mix and then store in for several days in the refrigerator.

The yogurt  (homemade Greek Style) know-hows I got at my friend, Chicaandaluza.  What a wonderful person you should take the time to go over and look over her recipes and too do not forget to take in her “City Slicka to Spanish Chica” category.  It is worth the time to sit and read her stories, very entertaining.  She had a gift of humor and of words.

            Ingredients:

  • About a cup of Cubed Watermelon (I save the drained the watermelon juice that accumulates in the bottom of the bowl… I use it in the dressing)
  • About a cup of Cubed Cantaloupe
  • About a cup of sliced Strawberries
  • About a cup of Pitted Bing Cherries
  • A full cup of Frozen White and Red Grape Mix
  • 1 Cup Yogurt (I used homemade, you do not have too any plain yogurt will do)
  •  Couple of Tablespoons of Watermelon Juice
  • ½ teaspoon Apple Cider
  • About a teaspoon of Crushed Lemon Thyme or to taste (crushed it a bit releases more flavor)
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper to taste

 

The amount of fruit you use should be for how many you will be serving.

Put all the fruit in one large bowl, save the watermelon juice for the dressing.  You can use any blend of fruit you want it does not have to be this mix.  This dressing goes well with all fruits.  Slightly blend the fruit, an even mix; I use my hands to do this.   Keep the fruit in the refrigerator at all times except when you are mixing, it needs to be kept and served cold.

Mix the dressing using the yogurt, watermelon juice, apple cider, crushed Lemon Thyme; I put the ingredients in the pint size canning jar and shake it good.  You can use a whisk if that is your choice.

Plate the fruit and drizzle some of the dressing over and then grind fresh Black Pepper over the top.  I had some toasted coconut already and sprinkled just a little over the top.  Wish I had had some pineapple to add to the mix!  You could put nuts and such too!

This is a very flavorful and full of color ending to a savory baked salmon dinner….

It tastes as good as it looks!  What colors!

