Dk Chocolate Covered Espresso Bean Mini Cupcakes w/ Buttercream Frosting

by ....RaeDi

 

I hope everyone had a wonderful 4th of July, our Nations Birthday. We sure did and it was sunny all day and warm, not hot but I did not need a heavy sweater which was a nice change. I sure hope that the summer stays with us. We only had a few days of summer last year and we would like to make up for it this year.

I made these mini cup cakes last 4th of July and they were such a hit I decided to do them again this year (they were hinted for.) Last minute changes meant the ribs went in the freezer and the Cole Slaw, Waldorf Salad, and Roasted Corn on the Cob would be done another day.

Making the mini cupcakes were much easier for me. Too, I love it that so many like these little minis. I  can make the cupcakes one day and then next day I frost.

They were a hit, not one was left. That makes me feel so good. I hope at some point some you try these, for having coffee in them (I am not a coffee drinker at all) they are really good, and so moist.

When cupcakes were requested from me last 4th of July I took some time to find just the right recipe, I wanted something that was unusual, but something everyone would like. I found this recipe in Martha Stewart’s cookbook, ‘Cupcakes.’ a wonderful cookbook (it was a gift) and too everyone knows that Martha’s recipe are always good. Here is the recipe for all those coffee lovers and even for those that don’t like coffee, I had a small sampling when I was finished with the frosting and it was very good for something with coffee.

I made another change this year I used Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans chop up about ¼ cup of coffee toffee candy in the cupcakes, they were delicious. I chopped them and then stirred it into the batter. The Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans little nuggets were a special treat inside each mini cupcake. I too mix them into the frosting and sprinkled some on top of the frosting. Everyone loved them…

ONE~ BOWL CHOCOLATE CUPCAKES

Ingredients, Makes 18 to 24 (50+ mini cupcakes)

  •        3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  •        1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  •        1 1/2 cups sugar
  •        1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  •        3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  •        3/4 teaspoon salt
  •        2 large eggs
  •       3/4 cup warm water
  •       3/4 cup buttermilk
  •        3 tablespoons safflower oil
  •        1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  •        ¼ chopped coffee toffee candy (me addition) ¼ cup chopped Dark Chocolate Espresso Beans

Directions

  •        Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line standard muffin tins with paper liners; set aside. Sift together cocoa powder, flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder, and salt into a large bowl. Add eggs, warm water, buttermilk, oil, vanilla, and mix until smooth, about 3 minutes. Scrape down the sides and bottom of bowl to assure batter is well mixed. Mix in the ¼ cup of chopped Dark Covered Espresso Beans into cupcake batter.
  •       Divide batter evenly among muffin cups, filling each 2/3 full. Bake until tops spring back when touched, about 20 minutes, rotating pan once if needed. Transfer to a wire rack; let cool completely.

     

The recipe I used for the cupcakes was from Martha Stewart’s Cupcake book. This recipe makes about 5 dozen mini cupcakes (For the mini One-Bowl Chocolate Cupcakes, I made half of this recipe of Swiss Meringue Buttercream and it was more than enough frosting.) 

                

Swiss Meringue Buttercream

Ingredients

  •        5 large egg whites
  •        1 cup plus 2 tablespoons sugar
  •        Pinch of salt
  •        1 pound (4 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into tablespoons, room temperature
  •        1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  •       1∕8 cup chopped Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans, save 2 Tablespoons to the side

Directions

  •        Combine egg whites, sugar, and salt in the heatproof bowl of a standing mixer set over a pan of simmering water.
  •        Whisk constantly by hand until mixture is warm to the touch and sugar has dissolved (the mixture should feel completely smooth when rubbed between your fingertips).
  •        Attach the bowl to the mixer fitted with the whisk attachment. Starting on low and gradually increasing to medium-high speed, whisk until stiff (but not dry) peaks form.
  •        Continue mixing until the mixture is fluffy and glossy, and completely cool (test by touching the bottom of the bowl), about 10 minutes.
  •        With mixer on medium-low speed, add the butter a few tablespoons at a time, mixing well after each addition.
  •         Once all butter has been added, whisk in vanilla.
  •         Switch to the paddle attachment, and continue beating on low-speed until all air bubbles are eliminated, about 2 minutes. Scrape down sides of bowl with a flexible spatula, and continue beating until the frosting is completely smooth.
  •       Keep buttercream at room temperature if using the same day, or transfer to an airtight container and refrigerate up to 3 days or freeze up to 1 month.

These are wonderful little mini cupcakes.  The Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans sure made the difference and that little hint of fresh ground nutmeg, really was a nice complement to the mix.   Like I said I love baking especially when there are no leftovers.  I know everyone enjoyed them very much; it was so worth the time and effort it took to make them….

