Easy Orange ~ Lemon Truffles

by ....RaeDi

Last Easter I made these truffles and they were a hit.  This year I am in the process of making petit fours.  Notice I said in the process of…I am now to the point of using pastry bag and tip and putting a flower on each.  I was going to buy already made sugar flowers but decided to just face the pastry bag once again.   But, in the meantime I will post these truffles I made a year ago and hopefully I will be able to post my petit fours by Easter.  I will be taking classes in cake decorating this fall but for now I will keep trying….

 

Easy Orange ~ Lemon Truffles

   Ingredients:

  •          1 cup (6 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips
  •          2 squares (1 ounce each) unsweetened chocolate, chopped
  •          1-1/2 cups powdered sugar
  •          1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
  •          1 tablespoon grated orange peel
  •          1 tablespoon orange-flavored liqueur  
  •          couple of tablespoons of crushed dark chocolate orange
  •               malt balls
  •          2 squares (1 ounce each)semi -sweet chocolate, grated or
  •               cocoa powder

 

First, melt chocolate chips and unsweetened chocolate in heavy saucepan over very low heat; be sure to stir constantly, once melted and smooth set aside until needed.

Combine the powdered sugar, butter, orange peel, liqueur, and crushed orange malt balls in a small bowl.  Beat this in mixer until just combined.  Beat in cooled chocolate.  Once all is blended pour into shallow dish and refrigerate this for about thirty minutes or until the mixture is fudgy in consistency and can be shaped into balls. 

I use one level tablespoon scoop of mixture to form into scant 1 inch balls.  Repeat until you have used up all the mixture.  I roll each ball in my hands until they are all uniform, round, smooth shapes, place on parchment paper as you make each one.

Once you have the entire mixture made into truffle balls put them in refrigerator or the freezer.   If you are going to coat now, you do not need to refrigerate until you are through coating them. 

When you are ready to put the outside coating on your truffles: roll each in grated chocolate, cocoa, nuts, cookie crumbs, powder sugar or sugar mixed with whatever seasoning you can come up with.   If you are having a hard time getting the coating to stick, roll in hands to warm just a bit and the try rolling in the covering mixture.

I put the grated chocolate (or whatever you are rolling them in) into a shallow bowl and rolled each ball in this mixture until coated and place in mini cupcake papers.  Store the truffles in an airtight container in refrigerator no longer than 3 days or up to several weeks in freezer.

What I did with my truffles was to dip them into melted chocolate and then drizzled color tinted chocolate over the tops. 

I too made a second batch using a little lemon favoring, grated lemon peel and lemon flavored chocolate chips (I got them at http://www.nutsonline.com); the lemon truffles were just as good as the orange truffles. 

I am not sure where the recipe came from, it was in my recipe box, if anyone knows who to give credit please let me know….

