Mom’s Tomato ~ Vegetable Sauce

by ....RaeDi


Mom’s Tomato ~ Vegetable Sauce

This sauce is good for everything that needs a tomato sauce or base.

Ingredients:  

(you can add any veggies you like to this blend)

  • One quart or so of water ~ you can use broth
  • 2~3 Eggplants, nice size
  • 2~3 Yellow Squash
  • 2~3 Zucchini
  • Winter Squash ~ couple of nice size pieces of, (it takes a little longer to cook winter squash, so I cut it up a little smaller than the other veggies) I have not tried but am going to try adding pumpkin to the mix next time…
  • 6 or so Parsnips’
  • 8 or more carrots
  • Spinach, if I have any on hand I throw in as much as I have
  • 2 Large Onions Cut into Big Chunks
  • 6~8 Large Cloves of Garlic Smashed
  • Tomatoes ~ 8~12 diced ripe roma or so if you have, if not I add two quarts of stewed tomatoes

Let this cook, and when blended add the following per directions:

  • 1 can Tomato Paste
  • 2~4 Tablespoons of Tomato Powder, (depends on how much I am making)
  • 1 Quart of stewed Tomatoes or 1 large can of stewed or diced tomatoes, (this is in addition to the other two quarts you have already used)
  • 2 Garlic Cloves ~ sliced thin
  • Sea Salt and Pepper to taste
  • Basil, Parsley, Oregano, 1 Bay Leaf ~ each to your tastes, if you are not sure, add 1/2 Teaspoon first and taste and then adjust to your taste

I wash the outside of my veggies (you do not have to wash onion and garlic) with a mild mixture of Dawn Detergent and water.  Be sure to rinse off thoroughly.  Take off tops and remove any blemishes from the veggies.  I scrub the parsnips’ and carrots well (I do not peel).  Chop all the veggies into large chunks and place in 6 quart or larger pan.  I add about a quart or so  of water (you can use broth here if you want) then add the ripe diced roma tomatoes or stewed tomatoes (if using canned tomatoes you do not have to add as much water or broth there is liquid in the canned tomatoes,) which ever you are going to use.  Put lid on pan and when the water comes to a boil turn the heat down to medium heat and cook for at least thirty minutes or so just watch for the winter squash and parsnips to be really tender and the juices to boil down some.

When the winter squash and parsnips are real tender, and juices have boiled down some take off heat and let cool down some.  I do this in batches; I ladle the cooked veggies into my blender and only fill about half way and I am very careful when blending hot foods in the blender, I stop and release the cap a few times to release some of the heat so it does not blow up.  I blend to a puree consistency making sure I use all of the fluids in pan too.  It is okay if you have small pieces left in the blended sauce.

Once you have blended all of the cooked veggies and fluids put them back in pan add another quart of stewed tomatoes, if you do not have them a large can of stewed tomatoes can be added instead.  Add tomato powder now if you are using, you can add more tomato paste if you like to have more tomato taste if not using the tomato powder.   Add the tomato paste, sliced garlic cloves, sea salt and pepper to taste, the basil, parsley, oregano and bay leaf.   Return lid to pan and put on medium heat, when it starts to boil a little turn heat down to low and cook for about an hour or so with lid on.  Be sure to check on it often and do stir it once in a while, you do not want to scorch or burn this sauce.  All the work would be ruined.  The garlic will be real tender when it is done.

I cool it down and put in quart size bowls, except what I will be using with the meatballs today.  I place bowls in freezer and when frozen I then vacuum in FoodSaver bags and return to freezer.  It makes them very handy and I do not have to worry about freezer burn and such.  It is as fresh as the day I made it when I go to use any of it weeks later.

I have been eating this sauce for years, company always wants to know what brand it is and I tell them it’s ‘Mom’s Sauce.’  They always want the recipe, and are shocked at how easy it is to make.  I too tell them, it is 100% all veggie sauce with no additives and no sugar added.  I use ‘Mom’s Sauce’ for everything….

