Fruity Coleslaw

by ....RaeDi

 

Fruity Coleslaw

I love coleslaw made with fruit.  As a child we had light raisins in our slaw.  But now I make mine with dried fruits and a few slightly crushed pecans.  What a wonderful combination and it is the side that is a dessert too.  It has so much color.

For the Sauce:

  • ½ cup Miracle Whip (You can use Mayonnaise)
  • 1 to 1 ½ teaspoons of Splendid
  • 1 plus Tablespoons of Cider Vinegar (I love the tart with sweet.   I add a little at a time to get it the way I love it)

I whisk this until the Splendid is completely dissolved. Whisk the vinegar in and taste to see if you want more, add more if needed.   Whisk well, it is now ready for the slaw.

For Slaw:

  • 1 quarter of Small White Cabbage
  • 1 quarter of Small Red Cabbage
  • 1 Carrot
  •  3-4 Dried Tomatoes’
  • Dried Tart Cherries
  • Dried Cranberries’
  • Light Raisins
  • Pecans ~ a handful lightly chopped
  • Roasted Mustard Seeds
  • Pinch of Celery Seeds
  • Slight Dash of Smoke Paprika

 

I cut the core from the cabbage and then I slice it into long slivers, julienned style.  The carrot I just cut slivers with the peeler and cut into 3” or so lengths.  I julienned several dried tomatoes.  I put a small handful each of the Dried Tart Cherries and Cranberries.  About half that in raisins, there is probably less than a ½ cup combined on all fruits. I add the pecans.  I pour the sauce over and stir lightly until everything is mixed.  This is better made a head of time.  The dried fruits do well in the sauce. 

I roast about a ½ teaspoon of mustard seeds in a heavy bottoms pan, put lid on, they pop when heated.  Just as they start to pop I put them in a bowl and cover as I do so, or you will have mustard seeds all over the place, they pop until they are cool.  And yes, I found this out on my own, and it is not easy collecting roasted mustard seeds all over the place.  In fact it seems days later I was still finding mustard seeds.  If you leave in the pot, they will continue to cook so you do have to put them in something with a lid as soon as you hear them popping.  Do not leave the pot untended; it only takes a second for them to overcook, some call it burnt.  You do not want burnt mustard seeds, yes I know personally about this too.  We are all young and beginners at some point.  Some lessons are well learned the first time around.   Believe me!

When you are dishing up the coleslaw take a slight pinch of celery seeds and sprinkle on slaw then take a few roasted mustard seeds and do the same.  I got fancy and put a whole pecan on mine (pictured!) 

This I had as a side with my chicken soup and the fresh baked Fresh Sage and Sunflower Seed Bread.  I so enjoyed this meal, it was the perfect combination…. 

The nuts and dried fruit I used came from Nuts Online.

