Basic Chicken Stock

by ....RaeDi

 

 

I made the stock using up all the back, necks, bones and carcass bits that I had been saving in the freezer.  It made for a large pot of stock.  It made more than enough for several chicken soups, and then with a couple of quarts leftover.  I froze them in batches and some in cubes for future use.  My stock recipe is:

In large stock pot:

  • Chicken back and necks from about 8 chickens
  • Bones and carcass bits from the same
  • 4 Crushed Garlic Cloves
  • 2 large onions
  • 4 Large Carrots
  • 4 Parsnips
  • 4 stalks of Celery
  • 6 or so quarts of cold water enough to cover by an inch
  • Sea Salt (not much, just a smidgen)
  • Fresh Ground Pepper to taste
  • ½ teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • ¼ cup or so sage leaves
  • Couple of bay leaves
  • I have been known to throw into the stock pot anything that ‘needs’ to be used from the veggie drawers in the refrig: mushrooms and such.

You can brown this in a pan with a little oil before putting in stock pot.  Sometimes I do, but this time I wanted to boil it down a little to concentrate the flavor.  While it is simmering (light boil) partially covered, I skimmed off the scum once in awhile.  I strained twice and then degreased it the best I could and let it cool down before I put it in refrig to solidify the fat.  

Once I got all fat off the top, I kept out what I would be using for a pot of chicken soup I would be making today and froze the rest in several batches and cubes for future use.  I freeze it in small bowls and once frozen I then put in Food Saver bags and vacuum steal before putting back in freezer for future use.  It makes all the difference in the world, in flavor, freshness and no problem with freezer burn….

