Fettuccini w/ Tomato Bruschetta, Chicken and Spinach

by ....RaeDi

 

 

This dish came about because I had some left over Double Tomato Bruschetta from dinner the other night.   I did not want it to go to waste and had a part of a pint of Cherry Tomatoes that needed to be used.  I too knew there was at least one grilled Chicken breast in the freezer that could be used.  Will not need a trip to the market, I am glad.  It will be a quick and easy dinner that I know will be enjoyable, I am already enjoying knowing that it will not be much work and quick cleanup. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 Pint Cherry Tomatoes (it need not be a pint, and you do not need to add these unless you want, it does add a lot of flavor and color to the dish, if not using you can add more canned diced tomatoes)
  • 1can diced tomatoes
  • 2 Diced cloves of Garlic
  • 1 Teaspoon Basil
  • 1 Teaspoon Parsley
  • Pinch of Red Pepper Flakes
  • 1 ½ Cups Tomato Juice
  • 1~2 Precooked Chicken Breasts
  • 1 ½ Cups Striped Fresh Spinach
  • Fresh Ground Black Pepper, Sea Salt to taste
  • Fettuccini Noodles ~ how many are you feeding?
  • Sour Cream
  • Shredded Parmesan and Romano Cheese Blend

I put the garlic cloves in the mini food processor and pulsed until they were pretty well diced up.   I added the cherry tomatoes that I had and pulsed until they were diced well.  What a beautiful color this makes all natural.  I put this in my Windsor pan on low heat and added the tomato juice, can of diced tomatoes, basil, parsley, red pepper flakes and the left over Bruschetta.  I added the freshly ground black pepper and a little sea salt to taste.  I put it on low heat and simmered for around 30 or so minutes. 

The garlic was very fragrant and the juice was cooked down by half.  I pulled my chicken meat into larger pieces (As you can see in the picture I added the chicken too soon it ended up shredded instead, next time I will remember to add them just in time to heat through good, too, sometimes I will put the meat in a steam basket and steam it until hot and then add at the last minute.  This method is good for two reasons, one it stays in the size pieces you want and if there is any grease, fat on it will melt into the water in the bottom of the pan and with the chicken above the water in the basket it makes it grease free) and the spinach I have ready to add at the last minute.  Chicken is already cooked and the spinach only takes a couple of short minutes to be done.  When the sauce has reduced by half I will put on the water for the noodles and I cook per directions of package. 

Once the noodles have only a couple of minutes (I then will add the steamed hot chicken) and spinach to the tomato sauce.  Put lid on so that everything is heated through and the steam it makes will cook the spinach.

Once all is done I drained the noodles and placed a serving on plate and added the sauce.  I put a dollop of sour cream and shredded cheese blend on top and dinner was ready.

This was a quick dinner that packed a significant amount of flavor and to top it off I used up all the food that needed to be eaten…. 

