Harmony Soup

by ....RaeDi

Harmony Soup

 
© 2009 ….RaeDi 
 

So you know right off, I am not being paid by Nuts Online.  What I claim is from my own perspective.  I was introduced to this site by a friend and then I ordered some of their products.  I cannot keep my mouth shut at this point about NUTS ONLINE.   The products sell themselves.  There is nothing NUTTY about this in the least, at least that I can see.

From this “The Hummers’ Critique Corner” I give Nuts Online a rating of five possible hummingbirds 

                                                 Rating of Five Hummingbirds

A friend had a  Christmas Open House one evening during the holidays and had a nice spread of holiday goodies for us to snack on.  She had set a beautiful buffet with an assortment of meats, cheeses and fruits, some wonderful little tarts (she used my pastry recipe I shared with her), cookies of all kinds, sugar cookies that were to pretty to eat and desserts including some home-made candies.  She promised she would give me a list of all new recipes after the holidays.

One thing she told me about and I wrote down was a website that her friend had brought to her attention, www.nutsonline.com.  I checked this site out once the holidays were over and I had things to the point of being able to breathe again.  I spent a whole afternoon my first time visiting this site.  Talk about a child in a candy store.  I wanted one of everything.   I too, knew that these products were top of the line.  I had eaten a sizable amount and variety of them at my friends’ party.  I told anyone who was eyeing me at the party that I was sampling the products, and I was all of them.  Once I realized that my list was like two pages long I decided to back off for a few days and come in with my brakes on, harder than it sounds.    I told myself I needed to take my time and pick a few well-chosen items for my first order.

That was not so easy.  In the end, I will admit my order had a dozen or so well-chosen items on it.  It took me several tries to get the list down to what I finally ordered.  I have a list of recipes that I have wanted to do from several foodies sites that I visit often.  Annie’s Eats, Pioneer Woman, Smitten Kitchen, Pat at Dancing in the Kitchen, Tartelette, Brown Eye Baker and the list goes on and on.   When I was studying Nuts Online products I wanted to put everything on the list all at one time.  If you take the time to go, you too may see how hard it is to decide what to buy on your first visit/order and save the rest for another time. 

I must have gone to their site a half-dozen times or so before I finally had the list ready to order.  As I said, I had known that all of their products are top of the line.  Usually when I  try to buy food products online I have a little more control of myself, the number one reason I am not sure if the product is what they claim and I do not want to be stuck with food products that I do not want to use and the money….I won’t go there again. 

I look forward to trying each product.  I chose a couple different dried fruits, a variety of nuts, their dried Porcini Mushrooms, Sun Dried Tomatoes, green tea powder, and a couple of their different flours.  I will definitely be using the Pistachio Flour and nuts soon.  When the box arrived I ripped it open like a child with a birthday present.  I was so impressed with each item I ordered.  They surpassed my expectations and more.  I will share with you each time I use a recipe that required a product from my new favorite online store.

The one thing I have used so far was the Organic Harmony Soup Blend. 

This is an amazing soup mix.  All organic:

Hard Red Winter Wheat, Pearled Barley, Pinto Beans, Red Kidney Beans, Spilt Green Peas, Red Rice, Navy Beans and organic Safflower Oil.

This dried soup mix cooked up into an incredible soup and we will be ordering more of this mix soon.  It made a very healthy dinner that we look forward to having again.   I should have taken a picture of the mix before I cooked them; they were beautiful mix of colors. 

Harmony Soup

Recipe from Nuts Online (I added the tomatoes and tomato powder)

 Ingredients:           
  •  2 cups organic soup blend
  • 3 quarts of Chicken Broth (I had some in the freezer) water if using chicken or any kind of meat
  • 3 pound whole chicken (I made without chicken)
  • 1 Tbsp dry savory leaves (I added a little of oregano, thyme and bay leaves)
  • ½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tsp sea salt (I used No Salt Sodium-Free Salt to taste)
  • 1 ½ cups sliced carrots
  • 1 fresh chopped onion
  • 1 cup sliced celery
  • 2~3 sliced cloves of garlic
  • 1 large can of diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tbsp of tomato powder
  • ½ tsp turmeric

Soak the soup blend overnight in 1 quart of water in the refrigerator.  Drain and discard water.

In a 6 quart pot, place chicken (if using or can be any kind of meat you like or not) and water…this is where I used my 3 quarts of chicken broth and soup blend.   

Add garlic, salt, turmeric, black pepper, savory leaves.  Cook for one hour or until the chicken is tender.  Remove the chicken so it can cool.   Cook for same amount of time if not using meat. 

Add the carrots, celery, onions and tomatoes and tomato powder.   Cook for 20/25 minutes or so while you are de-boning the chicken.  If using meat add it now and bring mixture to boil.  Remove and serve.

The soup was delicious without any meat in it.  I added the diced tomatoes and tomato powder to the recipe, I was wanting a tomato soup base for a while, it was great.  Next time I will probably make it without just to see the difference.  I am sure it will be just as good as this take, maybe I will make it with chicken or maybe not.  It’s great to have a product that you can basically do want you want and not spoil it.  I made some angel biscuits and salad to complete the meal.  We enjoyed this soup and will be doing it again soon. 

Let me know if you go to www.nutsonline.com.  I would love to hear what you think of their products.  I know the service is great and I could not believe how fast my shipment came….            

 

 

 

